Which MacBook Air?

I was waiting since a lot of time for a new Macbook Air with Sandy Bridge architecture and finally it’s here. I have one since a couple of days.
It’s really the best notebook I have ever had and I’m also happy for the configuration I chose.
Here are a couple of considerations, just related to the configuration, maybe it can help other people to decide.

11-inch or 13-inch Model?

I got the 11-inch (28 cm) model, instead of the 13-inch (33 cm).
It has a screen resolution of 1366 x 768 pixels (instead of the 1440 x 900 of the 13-inch model).

My choice: 11-inch.
My thinking was: I want great portability, the 11-inch is so small, thin and light that I can bring it everywhere, plus it has a good resolution, the same keyboard and trackpad of the 13-inch. And it’s cheaper!

When I need more screen estate I can connect it to an external monitor.

If you really need as much screen as possible anytime, go for a MacBook Pro 17″ or another big laptop.

64GB, 128GB or 256GB SSD?

This was a tough decision. From one side you are used to large hard disks and media content. On the other side, you can keep most of your data collection in the cloud or on an external hard disk.

My choice: 128GB.

At the end, I went for a compromise: 64GB sounded too small and 256GB too expensive. My iTunes collection is stored on a NAS system that I can access via WiFi and I have many USB hard drive or sticks for quick external storage.
My old DVD external burner is also perfectly working with the MacBook Air.

Until now, I’m pretty happy with the choice, maybe 64GB would have even been enough!

2GB or 4GB of RAM?

Here’s the decision is very easy: you want to max out the RAM on your MacBook Air at purchase. In fact, you will not be able to easily upgrade the RAM later.

And more RAM is what can really boost the performance. The extra cost is totally worth it.

My choice: 4GB RAM

Which Processor?

The new processors are a huge improvement against the previous generation one (1.4GHz Intel Core 2 Duo) and – thanks to the SSD – the MacBook Air is noticeably fast in most of the tasks (beside such as video editing or intensive gaming).

The bottom line is that it’s not worth spending more to get a slightly faster processor than the one coming with the basic configuration.

My choice: stay with the 1,6 GHz Dual-Core Intel Core i5.

Conclusion: 128GB 11-inch MacBook Air With 4GB of RAM and 1,6 GHz Processor.

Leave a Reply

