Japan 2011

I just came back from a holiday in Japan during which the earthquake and successive tsunami happened.

in Ishinomaki, after the earthquake

Everything was ok for me (I was in Tokyo and then I moved to the South) but the devastation was so vast and complete that was difficult to comprehend initially. In some areas everything is gone. It was also unusually cold and snowing.

Seeing the people after the tragedy really made me respect Japanese people, even the day of the earthquake when the Tokyo public traffic system halted, they were so calm and so stoic.

At the end I’m really happy that I decided to stay and continue my trip; Everybody seemed really grateful that for us just being in Tokyo at a time when all of the foreign business people fled and France sent airplanes to fly their citizens home. Remaining there,  drinking the water and eating the fish along with all the citizens that had no choice but to endure was good-feeling. Even the staff at the hotel and restaurants in Kyoto kept asking us about what happened in Tokyo, they just wanted to talk.

And I’m definitely thankful we had an iPod and a netbook to keep in contact with Europe. Thanks Facebook!

I hope to go back to Japan soon.

Leave a Reply

