Loudspeakers in the office

I was visiting a partner company few days ago.

The company is doing software development and they have relatively modern offices, open space actually.
We were sitting in a meeting room and suddenly I heard from a speaker installed on the wall an announcement like “Mr. X should contact as soon as possible Mr. Y from company Z”.

This was broadcasted in the entire company! I was there an entire day and I heard similar announces 5 or 6 times!

This was making me remember a piece I read in the Peopleware book mentioning that these kind of speakers are extremely dangerous as they break the concentration and the productive flow of work of the persons. When I read it, I thought it was something related to the ’70s and that nowadays (in times of mobile phones and Instant Messaging) it would be absolutely impossible to happen. It seems that I was wrong …

Leave a Reply

