Book Review: The Baroque Cycle by Neal Stephenson

Finished. The Baroque Cycle is a series of 8 novels written by Neal Stephenson.

It is a great fresco of the 17th and  18th century life with a lot of historical characters and a particular emphasis on science and technology. Because of this and of some freedom in historical events, the author is labeling it as a science fiction series.

The books are really entertaining and a joy for everyone with an interest in history, but the best books I found were the ones centered around the fictional character Jack Shaftoe, so book 4 and 5.

Sometimes is Neal Stephenson too verbose and too many side stories and details are thrown into the story but at the end I give to the series a thumb up.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s