StrengthsFinder Test: my strenghts

After having read the book, I did the self assessment myself. Here are the results.
My strongest themes (or talents) – with descriptions from the book – are, in order (top the strongest):

  1. Intellection (Ability to understand)
    I like to think. I like mental activity. I am the kind of person who enjoys my time alone because it is my time for musing and reflection. I am introspective, this may lead me to a slight sense of discontent as I compare what I am actually doing with all the thoughts and ideas that my mind conceives. This mental hum is one of the constant of my life.
    I enjoy the introspection and the self-discovery (is this why I like doing these tests?)
    Best when partnering with someone strong in the Activator theme (impatient  for action, he knows that only action is real, only action can make things happen, only action leads to performance): this partner will push me to act on my thoughts and ideas.
  2. Input (Ability to accumulate knowledge)
    I am inquisitive. I collect things, I collect information – words, facts, books and quotations. Because it interests me and mine is the kind of mind that finds so many things interesting. The world is exciting precisely because of its infinite variety and complexity.
    I keep acquiring and compiling and filing stuff away. It’s interesting. It keeps my mind fresh and perhaps one day some of it will prove valuable.
    I’m one of those people who think that the Internet is the greatest thing since sliced bread.
    Best in roles with a heavy research component, e.g. a topic of importance to an organisation.
    When I read a book and a topic is mentioned about which I don’t know too much I start to check other sources, books and web sites until I feel I know enough.
    The same happens when faced with a new technology.
    Above mentioned Intellection makes sure that I combine all the inputs gathered, to be sure I understand.

    Suggested partnerships: Focus, Discipline.
  3. Learner (Ability to learn)
    I love to learn. Whatever the subject, I will always be drawn to the process of learning. The process, more than the content or the result is especially exciting for me. I am energised by the steady and deliberate journey from ignorance to competence. The growing confidence of a skill mastered – this is the process that entices me. It enable me to thrive in dynamic work environments where I am asked to take on short project assignments and are expected to learn a lot about the new subject matter in a short period of time and then move on to the next one.
    I am curious in the broad sense.
    Best in roles which require to stay current in a fast-changing field, maybe as the “resident expert” in a field.
  4. Context
    I look back, because is where the answers lie. To understand the present. To a time of blueprints. As I look back, I begin to see these blueprints emerge. I make better decisions because I sense the underlying structure. I  become wiser about the future because I saw its seeds being sown in the past. Maybe this is where my blog title is coming from?
    Faced with new people and new situations, it will take me a little time to orient myself, but I must give myself this time.
    Suggested partnerships: Futuristic, Strategic.
  5. Deliberative
    I am careful, vigilant, a private person. Rather than denying risks exist, I draw each one out into the open. Then each risk can be identified, assessed and ultimately reduced.
    I am a fairly serious person who approaches life with a certain reserve, for example, I like to plan ahead so as to anticipate what might go wrong.
    I select my friends cautiously and keep my own counsel when the conversation turns to personal matters.
    If some people don’t like me because I am not so effusive as others, then so be it. For me, life is not a popularity contest.
    Suggested partnerships: Command, Self-Assurance, Activator.

Other themes I found could fit into my personality (but didn’t show up in the final list) are:

Analytical
I search for patterns and connections, I want to understand how certain patterns affect one another. How do they combine? What is their outcome? Others see me as logical and rigorous.

Futuristic
“wouldn’t be great if …” I am the kind of person who loves to peer over the horizon. The future fascinates me. I am a dreamer who sees vision of what could be.

Harmony
I look for areas of agreement. In my view there is little to be gained from conflict and friction, so I seek to hold them to a minimum. I don’t irritate easily.

One interesting aspect is that the 34 Strengths can be grouped into one of 4 domains:
Relating
(Working with People)
Impacting (Influencing People),
Thinking (Working Smarter) and
Striving (Working Harder).

All my strengths are thinking-related!
This is suggesting that I should partner with someone strong in the striving and impacting themes.

2 thoughts on “StrengthsFinder Test: my strenghts

  1. Pingback: Test: the Birkman First Look – Planner « Look back in respect

  2. Pingback: Test: the Myers-Briggs Personality Types – INFP « Look back in respect

Leave a Reply

